Wintering Birds of Toronto

Back in the fall, I was asked to design my very first window display. Roohi Qureshi, owner of the natural beauty product line Leaves of Trees, requested a storefront that could start bringing interest to her Queen East shop over the winter months.

We unanimously agreed on the theme of birds, birds and more birds!

paper birds

Paper Cardinal, paper birds, window display

In an effort to remain geographically specific, I  narrowed the selection of birds to those that overwinter here in Toronto. My research lead to the following species: Grosbeak, Indigo Bunting, Bohemian Waxwing, Nuthatch, Golden Finch, Oriole, Blue Jay, Robin, Cardinal, Bluebird, Chickadee and House Sparrow.

paper birds, window display

Paper Bluejay

bjay_processshot2

Lightweight black foam core was used as a base for all of the birds’ body and wing components. The paper details were glued on with nothing more than a glue stick. Coloured corrigated paper gave the wings an added touch of dimension.

wintering birds of toronto ontario, window display

After completing a total of 15 paper birds, I soon realized I had overlooked one very common species! Pigeons may not be native to the area, but they’re surely a big part of the urban landscape. It turned out to be the final touch my display needed, balancing everything out. (The image below gives a better idea of their actual size.)

WBirds_1
The Leaves of Trees shop is located at 177 Queen Street East, Toronto. LOT specializes in natural beauty care products such as lipbalms, deodorants, lotions and argon oils, all ethically sourced and locally made. www.leavesoftrees.com

0 Responses to “Wintering Birds of Toronto”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

my website

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Grade fours, standing at the edge of their paper collaged pond. There’s a swamp monster sporting sunglasses somewhere in there. 😎 October’s been flying by and so has my IBBY residency at the @torontolibrary . There are still two workshops left, so feel free to join me! Location: Northern District Library (Yonge & Eglinton) ps it’s free! ✨ My little adventure cat. @adventurecatsorg Moth landing. 🛬 I met some super creative grade 6 and 7 students today. Together, we cut and pasted and created these technicolor collaged landscapes.✂️🌈☀️ I was searching through boxes of old stuff in preparation for last week’s “Unlocking Your Artistic Voice” workshop and came across this page I had doodled back in high school. Going to keep it on my bulletin board from now on. #anaisnin #anaisninquote Getting his greens. 🌱#catgrass My #motherofmillions is dropping her “babies” off left and right. Does anyone want some?

