Love Your Lake

Last year my parents made a big move; they sold their suburban house in Whitby and bought a lake house in the cottage country town of Norland. They call their new place Point of View because it sits atop a rocky cliff, overlooking Shadow Lake.

norland house shadow lake

The pathway from the house to the lakeside takes you on a lengthy, but satisfying journey, winding around moss-covered rock faces dappled with ferns and under a canopy of cedar until you reach the dock.

I made this sketch of the tree tangled pathway, looking opposite to that of the lake.

dockdrawing

The shoreline that surrounds the cliffside varies from rocky and sandy in some parts to grassy and marshy in other parts, attracting different plants and animals to each.

I was delighted to study the subject of shoreline ecosystems further while working on this assignment for Canadian Wildlife Magazine. The article, called “Love Your Lake, explains how preserving a natural shoreline keeps the lake healthy. I created a bisection to illustrate the zones that make up the shoreline: Littoral Zone (the shallow part of a lake where weeds and fallen logs make for a fish friendly habitat), The Shore (where water tolerant grasses emerge), Riparian Zone (where the roots of shrubs and plants act as a water filter by slowing runoff), and Upland Zone (where tree roots help to stabilize slopes, preventing erosion).

lloveyourlake_2pages

loveyourlake_thumbThe timing of this job was perfect, as I was well practised in making lake bisections by then. The winter book of the Nature Number series called for a similar scene of a lake bottom, but under a sheet of ice. However, being able to inject some summer colour into it, by way of purple irises and lime green lily pads was a welcomed change, as were those cute little tadpoles.

love your lake paper type

The paper-cut type for “Love” was a little bit of an after-thought. Having completed the two main illustrations, I noticed there was just enough of the blue painted paper left to make it, so I said why not? I hope to do more hand lettering in the future.

shoreline bisection heron lake ecosystem

fish under canoe

0 Responses to “Love Your Lake”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

my website

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Grade fours, standing at the edge of their paper collaged pond. There’s a swamp monster sporting sunglasses somewhere in there. 😎 October’s been flying by and so has my IBBY residency at the @torontolibrary . There are still two workshops left, so feel free to join me! Location: Northern District Library (Yonge & Eglinton) ps it’s free! ✨ My little adventure cat. @adventurecatsorg Moth landing. 🛬 I met some super creative grade 6 and 7 students today. Together, we cut and pasted and created these technicolor collaged landscapes.✂️🌈☀️ I was searching through boxes of old stuff in preparation for last week’s “Unlocking Your Artistic Voice” workshop and came across this page I had doodled back in high school. Going to keep it on my bulletin board from now on. #anaisnin #anaisninquote Getting his greens. 🌱#catgrass My #motherofmillions is dropping her “babies” off left and right. Does anyone want some?

