A piece of summer

This time last summer, I was busy making sketches for Shaping Up Summer’s book spreads. I remember scouring the city’s public gardens for insects and flowering perennials with my camera in hand, crouching in funny positions to record their details and capture that-oh-so-right perspective. 

Since one of the aims of the Math in Number series is to educate readers on indigenous plants and animals, the ecosystems I sketched out had to be seasonally accurate. This meant learning which flowers bloomed around the same time as each other. For instance, a iris paired with a sunflower would be a very unlikely sight, as one blooms in spring and the other in late summer.

Lizann Flatt, the author of the series, was a great help when it came to suggesting which plants to group together. Lizann lives up in the Muskoka region of Ontario and is well-versed in her wildflowers. Her attention to detail is what makes this series so special, in my opinion.

coneflower&blue&bees

I wish I could share with you the cover of Shaping Up Summer to go along with this post, but I must first wait until the book has been fully released, come spring 2014.

So instead, I’ll hint at it in pieces, starting with the photos of the Purple Coneflowers and Blue Globe Thistles pictured above (including the bees), and this process shot of a Swallowtail butterfly coming together below.

swallowtail butterfly paper collage shaping up summer

0 Responses to “A piece of summer”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

my website

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Grade fours, standing at the edge of their paper collaged pond. There’s a swamp monster sporting sunglasses somewhere in there. 😎 October’s been flying by and so has my IBBY residency at the @torontolibrary . There are still two workshops left, so feel free to join me! Location: Northern District Library (Yonge & Eglinton) ps it’s free! ✨ My little adventure cat. @adventurecatsorg Moth landing. 🛬 I met some super creative grade 6 and 7 students today. Together, we cut and pasted and created these technicolor collaged landscapes.✂️🌈☀️ I was searching through boxes of old stuff in preparation for last week’s “Unlocking Your Artistic Voice” workshop and came across this page I had doodled back in high school. Going to keep it on my bulletin board from now on. #anaisnin #anaisninquote Getting his greens. 🌱#catgrass My #motherofmillions is dropping her “babies” off left and right. Does anyone want some?

