Watercolour Plant Studies

zebrina pendula potted plantI’m in love with this Zebrina Pendula, sometimes referred to as “Wandering Jew”. It’s iridescent leaves can play tricks on your eyes: in the morning’s full sun they’re bright fuschia and as my room gets darker, a deep royal purple sets in.

Look from above, and the tops of the leaves are a dusty green with faded stripes. These uniqueย leaves add a punch of colour to the otherwise green line up of plant species sitting on my sill.

But besides a pretty face , I’ve found Zebrina Pendula to be one of the easiest plants to propagate. Just cut off a piece, stick it in soil and within a couple days, roots will take form. This entire plant came from two tiny cuttings my friend Celeste had given me. (Celeste’s a fellow green thumb/illustrator/textile designer who recently moved back to Australia, and in doing so, had to find homes for all of her plant babies.)

Below I’ve included some watercolour studies I made from different houseplants around my apartment. Jade (pictured below right), like the Zebrina, also has a reddish underside to it’s leaf. It was fun to work with a brush for a change. Watercolour allows me to transition from one colour to the next with ease. I have yet to find a way to replicate this in my paper collage, but I’m definitely working on it.

zebrina pendula jade watercolour houseplantsThe succulent blooms I painted below are from a photo reference. Some day I hope to own an assortment like this, especially the lime-coloured one with the fiery tips!

succulent blooms Ashley Barron watercolour

0 Responses to “Watercolour Plant Studies”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Pansies Big spoon / Little spoon Restricting myself to this colour palette for some much needed personal work. Scroll to see so far. #HenriRousseau ๐Ÿฏ Yeti hunting Nori's tail. (From a couple weeks ago.) Baby #DinosaurKale "Make your own fairy garden" illustration for @cwf_fcf 's Wild Magazine. ๐Ÿš๐ŸŒผ๐Ÿ„ Making a fairy garden, starting with some #butterflyweed ๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒฟ

