delayed gratification

Gardening is a lesson in patience. Back in October, I went on a buying spree with the end of season plant sales. Perennials that were once out of my price range were drastically marked down and I couldn’t help but take home as many as I could carry on my bike. The plants didn’t look like much at the time. They were mysterious leafy clusters with yellowing tips, already preparing for a winter of hibernation. The faded species cards wedged inside their soil were my only promise of what could and hopefully would reveal itself come the following summer.

Well, it’s nine months later and I couldn’t be happier with the results. First the Columbine bloomed, then the Irises, Rose Campion and Stonecrops. The most rewarding plant yet has been this towering Foxglove. The bees are certainly happy with it, and they’ll be even more so in the coming days as the Hollyhocks reveal their grandiose blooms. More pictures to come…but first I must wait.

white foxglove and bee

white foxglove

0 Responses to “delayed gratification”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Big spoon / Little spoon Restricting myself to this colour palette for some much needed personal work. Scroll to see so far. #HenriRousseau 🐯 Yeti hunting Nori's tail. (From a couple weeks ago.) Baby #DinosaurKale "Make your own fairy garden" illustration for @cwf_fcf 's Wild Magazine. πŸšπŸŒΌπŸ„ Making a fairy garden, starting with some #butterflyweed πŸ¦‹πŸŒΏ This little guy survived the winter! #purplekale πŸ’œ

