Lewis & Clark

Okay, so I have something embarrassing to admit. When St. Louis Magazine first approached me to illustrate a piece about Lewis and Clark, I thought they were referring to the “Lois and Clark” from Superman. (insert blushing face)

After a quick google search I soon realized that these two men are considered national heroes in America. (We’re just not taught American history in the Canadian school curriculum, and I’m sure it’s vice versa for American students). So for anyone else in the dark, here’s the low down: 200 years ago, Meriwether Lewis and William Clark headed an expedition called the Corps of Discovery across the midwest in search of a water route connecting to the Pacific Ocean. Considered a success, this expedition helped spawn the American westward movement where pioneers started settling into the great plains and rocky mountains on their way to the Pacific coast.

Lewis and Clark paper collage illustration

There was a reoccurring feature in the many renditions of Lewis and Clark I came across while conducting my research for this piece. Fringed buckskin fashions aside, it was their iconic hair dos that really kept stealing the show: Lewis’ shaggy centred coon tail-like bang and Clark’s sideburn-rich asymmetrical wave.

lewis clark hair tshirt design

I guess I wasn’t the only one zeroing in on their coif. I found this clever t-shirt design that does just that! I highly recommend browsing the other historical figures they’ve simplified to hair styles at Hirsute. Funny enough, the do is  where I chose to start the final portraits of Lewis and Clark…a little fun to get the ball rolling.

lewis and clark hairstyles paper collage

0 Responses to “Lewis & Clark”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

my website

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Grade fours, standing at the edge of their paper collaged pond. There’s a swamp monster sporting sunglasses somewhere in there. 😎 October’s been flying by and so has my IBBY residency at the @torontolibrary . There are still two workshops left, so feel free to join me! Location: Northern District Library (Yonge & Eglinton) ps it’s free! ✨ My little adventure cat. @adventurecatsorg Moth landing. 🛬 I met some super creative grade 6 and 7 students today. Together, we cut and pasted and created these technicolor collaged landscapes.✂️🌈☀️ I was searching through boxes of old stuff in preparation for last week’s “Unlocking Your Artistic Voice” workshop and came across this page I had doodled back in high school. Going to keep it on my bulletin board from now on. #anaisnin #anaisninquote Getting his greens. 🌱#catgrass My #motherofmillions is dropping her “babies” off left and right. Does anyone want some?

