Flower Bed

The warm weather has finally arrived and I couldn’t be more ready to garden. And just like blossoms on a tree, little mom and pop plant markets have begun to sprout all over the city, tempting me at every street corner!

Up until this year, my planting style has been strictly vegetable focused, with no consideration for flowers of any kind. I really don’t know why, considering the amount of flowers I depict in my art. But that’s the way it’s been…puzzling, I know!

pansies bleeding hearts

So as you can see from the photo montage above, I’ve crossed the bridge from utilitarian to frivolous gardener. I’ve planted Pansies, Irises, Columbine, Hollyhocks, two varieties of Poppy (finally!), Lupins, Bleeding Hearts (my mom’s favourite), a couple species of Stonecrop and even some succulents quirkily named Hen & Chicks.

alice in wonderland flowers

I never realized the burst of colour a group of Pansies can bring to a garden! They’re so individually stunning to look at up close and the variety of colours and patterns are seemingly endless.

And thanks to my early exposure to Disney’s Alice and Wonderland, I keep imagining little smug faces set inside each of their blooms!

Although the emphasis will be on flowers this year, I’ve also made room for some veggies like cherry tomatoes, asparagus, and of course kale!

0 Responses to “Flower Bed”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

my website

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Just found out the term for a herd of unicorns is called a "blessing": A blessing of unicorns. Weird, but okay. 🌈 #burrito Feeling like a 9 year old again. ✨ 🍊 🍊 🍊 Baby in a backpack from Up! 📘@owlkidspublishing Kayaking is kind of like the opposite of biking, when you think about it. 🛶⚡️🚲 Nori rated this year's cat garden buffet 2 out of 3 Michelin stars: "worth a detour". ⭐️⭐️ .
.#catgarden #catgrass #catmint #walkerslow #nepetaracemosa #barleygrass #purrsianbluecatmint #worthadetour We found a perfectly good drafting table left out for trash. Yay for free things and customizable angles to draw upon! ✍️↗️↘️↖️⬆️⬅️↙️

