Kyla’s Pig

Kyla's PigHere’s a look at a recent commission I did for a friend’s six-year-old daughter, Kyla. The guidelines for the project were simple and had potential to be delightfully girly: (1) Kyla was born in the year of the pig, (2) she loves the colours purple and pink, and (3) this would be a personal poster she could hang on her bedroom wall.

Since I tend to work quite small (to accommodate my scanner), I was initially uncertain about creating a 16″ x 20″ paper collage. My main concern was finding the right materials that would stand the test of time. After some trial and error, I found that heavy duty watercolour paper as a backing was the way to go. I also opted for the strength of two sided tape as opposed to glue sticks. When working with larger pieces of paper, glue sticks can cause ripples and curves as they dry, where as the two-sided tape doesn’t.

flower headsThe foreground and the background elements were quick to finish, but I found the mid ground floral arrangement a little bit challenging in terms of  colour choices that wouldn’t distract from the pig. In the process of experimenting with different flower combinations, I ended up making quite the surplus of flowers! Fortunately, nothing is ever wasted in the my studio…those paper flower heads will be recycled soon into another project, so keep an eye out for them!desk top

Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

my website

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

What do 3 cats + 2 dogs + a parrot equal? That's right: zero productivity for Ashley. My parents are coming back from their trip tomorrow and our three weeks of dog sitting are coming to an end. It's been exhausting, but they will be missed. After much rearranging, the kids from "Birthdays Around the World" have all managed to fit in one frame! 🙌
.
One of the many pieces I'll have on display at the Northern District Library this October. More details to follow. ✨Here's a peek inside my new book out this fall! ✨

Thanks to my editor @katie.scott2, designer Julia Naimska and author @margrietruurs for all of their hard work on this, and everyone else at @kidscanpress. Just a reminder that it's still watermelon seed spitting season! .
.
Scene from my new book with @kidscanpress, written by Margriet Ruurs called "Birthdays Around the World". 🎁🌎🌍🌏 Borrowing this floating forest perspective from Van Gogh's painting, "The Walk". If "Counting on Fall" had an accompanying sound button, this page would be all honks.
.
.
#countingonfall #mathinnature #canadiangoose #canadiangeese #canada #geese #kidlitart #kidlit #papercollage #cutpaper #paperbirds #mathconcepts #countingbook #childrensbookseries The Math in Nature series in Turkish! ✨Thanks to the marketing wizards at @owlkidspublishing.✨ If I had a band, I'd name it "Travis and the Sunchokes". ☀️ (Dogsitting for my parents this month.)

