Word on the Street

Word on the Street is an annual event that takes place in Toronto’s Queen’s Park. It’s a celebration of literature, art and ideas, represented by Canadian book and magazine publishers of all kinds. Every September I make it a priority to go, with the anticipation of receiving an attractive tote bag with my Walrus subscription renewal!

This year’s Word on the Street was a nice change of scenery because I got to experience the event from the other side of the table, as presenter and book signer. Author Lizann Flatt and I presentedย Counting on Fallย to a bunch of kids and their parents in the Children’s Activity Tent. Well equipped with a raccoon hat and squirrel finger puppets, we engaged the kids in a reading of the book, followed by a craft activity. Here’s my lesson plan for the Paper Fall Leaf Activity.

activity tent

Lizann and I

I must say, it was pretty surreal finally getting to meet the author of the book series I’ve been working on for more than a year now. Lizann is such a delight to work with, and is especially great with children. I’m really looking forward to our upcoming event at the Toronto Evergreen Brick Works on November 11th. (here’s more info) Much like this event, we’ll be reading, crafting, and signing. Oh how fun!

Chirp and the kids

0 Responses to “Word on the Street”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Pansies Big spoon / Little spoon Restricting myself to this colour palette for some much needed personal work. Scroll to see so far. #HenriRousseau ๐Ÿฏ Yeti hunting Nori's tail. (From a couple weeks ago.) Baby #DinosaurKale "Make your own fairy garden" illustration for @cwf_fcf 's Wild Magazine. ๐Ÿš๐ŸŒผ๐Ÿ„ Making a fairy garden, starting with some #butterflyweed ๐Ÿฆ‹๐ŸŒฟ

