a midsummer’s placebo

I’m in the midst of illustrating the third book in the Math in Nature series titled “Sizing Up Winter”, written by Lizann Flatt. And I’m happy to report that almost every spread involves a snowy landscape inhabited by winter-loving animals.

This summer has been one giant, long, relentless heat wave, and so to counteract my oven of a studio I’ve resorted to colour therapy. Yes, colour therapy. Greens and whites and blues rule my workspace right now and believe it or not, the act of working with these hues is actually cooling my body temperature down. Well, that’s what I have myself believing at least. So give it a try: look at the following porcupine spread and see if it gives you a brain freeze.

After much time spent researching this prickly rodent, I must warn against the natural urge to google baby porcupines; they are drop dead cute. Actually, they are too cute! How can something be so very cute? And while you’re avoiding baby porcupine images, please also refrain from googling baby otters. Trust me, just don’t. It’s too much cute to handle. To put it simply, it will warm up your heart, and in doing so, revoke any last cooling measure I prescribed above.

 

1 Response to “a midsummer’s placebo”


  1. 1 Celeste Ramos August 8, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    I love this!! And I love the stories that comes with it!


Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

my website

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

#burrito Feeling like a 9 year old again. ✨ 🍊 🍊 🍊 Baby in a backpack from Up! 📘@owlkidspublishing Kayaking is kind of like the opposite of biking, when you think about it. 🛶⚡️🚲 Nori rated this year's cat garden buffet 2 out of 3 Michelin stars: "worth a detour". ⭐️⭐️ .
.#catgarden #catgrass #catmint #walkerslow #nepetaracemosa #barleygrass #purrsianbluecatmint #worthadetour We found a perfectly good drafting table left out for trash. Yay for free things and customizable angles to draw upon! ✍️↗️↘️↖️⬆️⬅️↙️ Happy 5th Birthday to my friends at @maizalto 🎈🎈🎈Gabby & Ivan: I remember when the thought of opening your own restaurant was just a dream, and now look how far you've come!💫 Do me a favour and open a second location in the East end, will ya?! 🙏🙏🙏

