a good thing

I’m a houseplant nerd. I really enjoy watering and repotting my various plants, experimenting with light sources and mental charting their growth rates. Every year my collection mysteriously grows twofold, and it has come to the point where I’ve run out of window space. But who am I kidding? That won’t stop me. I’ll just buy more shade loving plants to fill up the darker regions of my rooms.

Below is a small selection of my houseplant collection. I’ll get to the remaining 13 another day…but by then I might have a few new members to add to the list. Researching their names, admittedly, took longer than the actual drawings, but all worth the while. (They’re named left to right, top to bottom).

I used pen and coloured markers from a pack ofΒ Martha StewartΒ brand markers I had found at Value Village a while back. They’re surprisingly long lasting markers considering their slender size and the colours blend well and complement each other quite nicely. Each marker comes with it’s own perfect little name like: lupine, cornflower meadow, lovebird, persimmon, Β and peony, just to name a few.

3 Responses to “a good thing”


  1. 2 kevincwwong June 24, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    These plants are lucky to have you as their owner. Most of their peers don’t get portraits.


Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Big spoon / Little spoon Restricting myself to this colour palette for some much needed personal work. Scroll to see so far. #HenriRousseau 🐯 Yeti hunting Nori's tail. (From a couple weeks ago.) Baby #DinosaurKale "Make your own fairy garden" illustration for @cwf_fcf 's Wild Magazine. πŸšπŸŒΌπŸ„ Making a fairy garden, starting with some #butterflyweed πŸ¦‹πŸŒΏ This little guy survived the winter! #purplekale πŸ’œ

