poppy love

Bursting from bashful buds, a Moulin Rouge-worthy cabaret of rumpled blood orange skirts orbit around their midnight maestro.

Okay, so I have an infatuation with poppies. To put it simply, they take my breath away…and not being able to breath, although exhilarating, is not cool! You can die!

Therefore, I’ve no choice but to limit my exposure to poppies in small measured doses. Perhaps that is my reasoning for never having planted them in my own garden. I fear that if I had access to backyard poppies, I’d never get any work done. A whole day would pass in the blink of an eye while I lay, mesmerized, under a ruby canopy of gently swaying translucent petals (picture Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz).

4 Responses to “poppy love”


  1. 1 kevincwwong June 5, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    These also look tasty. (And served on round dinner plates.)

  2. 3 Sharon November 8, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    I am a quilter but do applique on the side. these would make great patterns for hand applique. I love them.

    • 4 ashleybarron November 9, 2012 at 7:05 pm

      Hi Sharon, thanks for visiting my blog and so glad you love the poppies! I’d love to see you applique this poppy design. Just let me know if you’d ever like me to send you a larger jpeg to work from. Cheers :)


Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Pansies Big spoon / Little spoon Restricting myself to this colour palette for some much needed personal work. Scroll to see so far. #HenriRousseau 🐯 Yeti hunting Nori's tail. (From a couple weeks ago.) Baby #DinosaurKale "Make your own fairy garden" illustration for @cwf_fcf 's Wild Magazine. 🐚🌼🍄 Making a fairy garden, starting with some #butterflyweed 🦋🌿

