Ontario Parks

I pretty much spent all of my childhood summers camping in one Provincial Park or another. Killbear was my family’s go-to park. We’d pop our Coleman trailer up and down, moving from site to site each week, just for a change of scenery. Most of my days were spent along the water, digging in sand, attempting to windsurf, and collecting wild blueberries that would soon find their way into our pancakes the next morning. Evenings were spent by the fire mainly, singing songs and making s’mores, but not before we had hiked over to Harold’s Point to watch the sun set.

Killarney is another favourite of mine. Having only visited there once in my teens, I  remember being pleasantly surprised by the warm lake temperature and  its abundance of frogs! During our 2 week stay, my mom and I took part in a watercolour class the park staff had offered. As we hiked up to a high rock face, art supplies in tow, the instructor informed us that the members of the Group of Seven had worked in Killarney. Having just learned about the Group of Seven in high school art history that year, I was excited to paint the very same vistas that the likes of A.Y Jackson,  Franklin Carmichael, Arthur Lismer, and A.J. Casson had been exposed to.

Above I’ve attached my original Killarney watercolour (oh it’s so bad!), as well as my first attempt at paper collage for a Grade 10 art project on Arthur Lismer.

But enough with my sentimental journey into the past. The real reason for this blogpost is to introduce the children’s line of t-shirts I designed for Ontario Parks.

This beaver and chipmunk are both on a mission, whether it be to find their dam or to chase a runaway acorn. (The back of the shirts contain an extra element of surprise). And although the colours look a little gender specific, I like to think that boys can wear pink….err, I mean salmon, too!

These shirts will be available at all Provincial Park stores across Ontario, spring through fall, and the proceeds go back into keeping the parks beautiful.

10 Responses to “Ontario Parks”


  1. 1 maya May 25, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    bright and cheerful! Love them!

  2. 5 Canada's Boomergirl May 26, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    I LOVE your paper collage!! Nice post.

  3. 7 Lizann Flatt May 30, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    These are beautiful shirts, Ashley! I need to look for them.

  4. 9 Lucy Chavasse February 13, 2017 at 11:48 pm

    I don’t know if you’ll get this message but in case you do… we bought my son one of these beaver shirts a few years back and it is still his favourite shirt, but is now far too small and worn out. He says he’ll only stop wearing it if I can get him a new one, any idea if I might still be able to track one down? Even if you can’t help, thank you very much for the awesome design!

    • 10 Ashley Barron February 27, 2017 at 6:20 pm

      Hi Lucy, what a lovely bit of info to share with me! I’m so humbled that your son likes the beaver shirt so much. Wow! That’s so wonderful to hear! From what I remember, the largest size that particular shirt comes in is “youth size”, if that makes any sense. My friends are always notifying me whenever they come across these shirts and it seems like they’re still available at a lot of the provincial park stores. Perhaps call the closest ones to you to check before you make the trip. I wish I had extras available here to give you, but alas I don’t. Thanks again for the kind words. I wish you all the best.


Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Pansies Big spoon / Little spoon Restricting myself to this colour palette for some much needed personal work. Scroll to see so far. #HenriRousseau 🐯 Yeti hunting Nori's tail. (From a couple weeks ago.) Baby #DinosaurKale "Make your own fairy garden" illustration for @cwf_fcf 's Wild Magazine. 🐚🌼🍄 Making a fairy garden, starting with some #butterflyweed 🦋🌿

