cherry blossoms

Ever since moving to Toronto 6 years ago, I have been meaning to go and see the High Park cherry blossom festival. Yesterday morning, accompanied by my friend Andrea, I finally laid witness to this elusive spectacle of pink on blue. Every tree had a dozen or more admirers gazing dreamily up into its candy corn branches, and snapping away with their cameras, cell phones, and ipads. We happily followed suit!

I incorporated a couple of blooming cherry trees in one of my children’s book spreads (see below). In this scene, a confidant red fox wanders into a meadow in search of dinner while squirrels, rabbits and voles go about their business.

 “Sorting Through Spring” is the second of four books I”ll be illustrating for the Math in Nature series written by Lizann Flatt and published by Owlkids Books. I was surprised to learn that “Counting on Fall” is already listed for pre-order on Amazon!

And what perfect timing to be working on a spring themed book…all I have to do is look out my window for reference. I’ll be working on the winter themed book right after this one, funny enough; cutting out snowflakes in the heat of summer!

2 Responses to “cherry blossoms”


  1. 1 kevincwwong April 15, 2012 at 5:25 am

    Really love the colour palette! (Also, what a treat to see the sketch of the lively fox!)

  2. 2 Lizann Flatt May 10, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    What beautiful blossoms. And I love the peek at your work-in-progress. It’s looking terrific!


Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

my website

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Porcupines perusing pine trees from #SizingUpWinter ❄️❄️❄️ @owlkidspublishing Listening Ears Has anyone else’s cat grown a thick winter coat, like over night? Nori is a fur blob now. (portrait by @kevincwwong) I didn’t draw houses and trees as a kid... I mostly drew women with floor-length hair wearing medieval dresses. If I find them, I’ll post them sometime. 😂 Remember when the sun used to set at 9pm? 😩 Nap time at Riverdale Farm. Making lots of babies.......(the cut-paper kind) for my next book with @owlkidspublishing That’s my mom, in the blue sweater, about to sweep! 💙

