UNO Show

This coming Friday my original La Carnita piece will be framed and hanging in the Uno show, happening at Evergreen Brick Works. I’m really looking forward to seeing brand new pieces for the talented artists listed below, and of course eating TACOS!

Actually, a funny thing happened this week.

While framing this piece, I found myself in a bit of a wild goose chase. I had run out of the burgundy paper you see as the mat colour in the picture below (an absolute favourite of mine), and so off I went hopping from art store to art store to find it, much like the easter bunny. After hopping to three with no success, I started panicking! Every store was telling me they had discontinued selling the product I so desperately seeked: Daler-Rowney’s MuranoΒ line of papers. By the time I reached Aboveground, I must have looked defeated and miserable because a kind store clerk sympathetically jumped to my aid. He called a couple places and finally located one last store in Toronto still carrying my beloved Murano.

And so here’s the kicker: this one last saviour of an art store was Gwartzman’s on Spadina, an embarrassingly close 3 minute walk from my house. I had simply never stepped foot inside before due to its tiny shop size and disheveled street view window. I had regretfully judged this book by the cover. So thank you Gwartzman’s Art Supplies, thank you, thank you, thank you, and sorry for completely buying out your entire inventory of Murano paper. See you very soon my new found friend!

0 Responses to “UNO Show”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

my website

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Just found out the term for a herd of unicorns is called a "blessing": A blessing of unicorns. Weird, but okay. 🌈 #burrito Feeling like a 9 year old again. ✨ 🍊 🍊 🍊 Baby in a backpack from Up! πŸ“˜@owlkidspublishing Kayaking is kind of like the opposite of biking, when you think about it. πŸ›Άβš‘οΈπŸš² Nori rated this year's cat garden buffet 2 out of 3 Michelin stars: "worth a detour". ⭐️⭐️ .
.#catgarden #catgrass #catmint #walkerslow #nepetaracemosa #barleygrass #purrsianbluecatmint #worthadetour We found a perfectly good drafting table left out for trash. Yay for free things and customizable angles to draw upon! βœοΈβ†—οΈβ†˜οΈβ†–οΈβ¬†οΈβ¬…οΈβ†™οΈ

