La Carnita

Food and art are a match made in heaven when it comes to La Carnita.

This pop-up gourmet taco stand has earned quite the following, as it successfully combines mouth watering eats with a passion for art and design. How it works? Every session a new artist is asked to create their own rendition of La Carnita’s mascot “Meat Head”. Limited edition prints of the artwork are then sold as a package deal that includes 3 delicious gourmet tacos.

I feel lucky to be a part of the art side of things at tonight’s La Carnita’s session, where 200 of my Meat Head prints will be on the menu. As for tonight’s taco flavours…that’s still a secret. I guess there’s only one way to find out!

Thanks to Andrew Richmond, Steve Miller, Rob Pilichowski and the rest of the crew at One Method for warmly welcoming me into their space yesterday to sign prints.

La Carnita’s gourmet taco pop-up  takes place tonight at the Evergreen Brick Works from 6-11pm, as part of the Toronto Underground Market. Follow them on twitter to be in the know for their next pop-up event in the city @la_carnita

5 Responses to “La Carnita”


  1. 3 overlappingsets December 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    I love this print. I’m going to have to go get some tacos if there are still some prints left.


  1. 1 Toronto Underground Market | North East of the City Trackback on November 20, 2011 at 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

my website

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

What do 3 cats + 2 dogs + a parrot equal? That's right: zero productivity for Ashley. My parents are coming back from their trip tomorrow and our three weeks of dog sitting are coming to an end. It's been exhausting, but they will be missed. After much rearranging, the kids from "Birthdays Around the World" have all managed to fit in one frame! 🙌
.
One of the many pieces I'll have on display at the Northern District Library this October. More details to follow. ✨Here's a peek inside my new book out this fall! ✨

Thanks to my editor @katie.scott2, designer Julia Naimska and author @margrietruurs for all of their hard work on this, and everyone else at @kidscanpress. Just a reminder that it's still watermelon seed spitting season! .
.
Scene from my new book with @kidscanpress, written by Margriet Ruurs called "Birthdays Around the World". 🎁🌎🌍🌏 Borrowing this floating forest perspective from Van Gogh's painting, "The Walk". If "Counting on Fall" had an accompanying sound button, this page would be all honks.
.
.
#countingonfall #mathinnature #canadiangoose #canadiangeese #canada #geese #kidlitart #kidlit #papercollage #cutpaper #paperbirds #mathconcepts #countingbook #childrensbookseries The Math in Nature series in Turkish! ✨Thanks to the marketing wizards at @owlkidspublishing.✨ If I had a band, I'd name it "Travis and the Sunchokes". ☀️ (Dogsitting for my parents this month.)

