flock of blocks

I’m going to start this post off by happily reporting that our last remaining foster kitten, Lil’Dotty, has found a new permanent home. You could say I got accustomed to her desk side companionship over the past month…I miss her sporadic bursts of energy and endless fly chasing games, her pitiful little “I’m hungry” meows and the way she’d stand on my chest in the dead of night and paw at my feet beneath the blankets, and sneak sips from my mug at every chance…distractions, distractions.

The blocks pictured beside Lil’Dotty (her new owner calls her Olivia) are from a set of sixteen I had found in the toy aisle at Value Village. I originally wanted to make a six sided puzzle with some older work, but opted instead to focus on colour and pattern. It was a nice exercise in letting go — nothing seemed too precious anymore. Specialty papers I had been safe-keeping for years: vintage packaging, old readers digest pages, hand-printed papers by yours truly, as well as some new ones (thanks Ibraheem Youssef for the beautiful hand-marbled Florentine paper), were now at my disposal to shape into perfect little squares.

The result? A 3D quilt of sorts that has the ability to move and change it’s mood with every turn of the block.Β 

2 Responses to “flock of blocks”


  1. 1 Ashley Sanders August 11, 2011 at 3:56 am

    Love this! So dynamic – how fun.

  2. 2 ashley Barron August 12, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    Thanks Ashley…looking forward to seeing you in 2 weeks!


Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

my website

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Just found out the term for a herd of unicorns is called a "blessing": A blessing of unicorns. Weird, but okay. 🌈 #burrito Feeling like a 9 year old again. ✨ 🍊 🍊 🍊 Baby in a backpack from Up! πŸ“˜@owlkidspublishing Kayaking is kind of like the opposite of biking, when you think about it. πŸ›Άβš‘οΈπŸš² Nori rated this year's cat garden buffet 2 out of 3 Michelin stars: "worth a detour". ⭐️⭐️ .
.#catgarden #catgrass #catmint #walkerslow #nepetaracemosa #barleygrass #purrsianbluecatmint #worthadetour We found a perfectly good drafting table left out for trash. Yay for free things and customizable angles to draw upon! βœοΈβ†—οΈβ†˜οΈβ†–οΈβ¬†οΈβ¬…οΈβ†™οΈ

