Li Gelpke-Rommel

Here’s another book I bought solely for its cover. I found it in the same Munich rummage sale as the “World of Birds” encyclopedia, featured a couple posts ago.

It’s a crowded illustration that breaks a lot of rules (ie: the two sets of feet touching the bottom edge, the claustrophobic text, and the anatomically incorrect hand), and yet it works in my eyes. The lithe purple moose is what sold me!

I wish I could find more examples of Li Gelpke-Rommel’s work…

3 Responses to “Li Gelpke-Rommel”


  1. 1 susan gelpke July 13, 2011 at 7:32 am

    I know Li well, she is a relative by marriage. She has done many book illustrations and I am sure that you will be able to contact her. She livesi n Basel and is no doubt in the phone book. If I remember correctly, her name was Lillian Rommel before her marriage to my brother in law Rudolf G.

  2. 2 ashleybarron July 13, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    That’s amazing, Susan! Thanks for sharing! I’m a fan of her work and would love to get in contact with her at some point…and to think I was just in Switzerland, close to Basel. Does she have an email address?

    • 3 Li Gelpke June 17, 2012 at 3:37 pm

      Dear Ashley,

      nice to read you are a fan of my illustrations! Here is my mail adress: ligelpke@me.com
      If you have any questions, just contact me please!

      Regards from Basel,
      Li Gelpke


Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Big spoon / Little spoon Restricting myself to this colour palette for some much needed personal work. Scroll to see so far. #HenriRousseau 🐯 Yeti hunting Nori's tail. (From a couple weeks ago.) Baby #DinosaurKale "Make your own fairy garden" illustration for @cwf_fcf 's Wild Magazine. πŸšπŸŒΌπŸ„ Making a fairy garden, starting with some #butterflyweed πŸ¦‹πŸŒΏ This little guy survived the winter! #purplekale πŸ’œ

