Tent Trailer

This weekend I went up to Georgian Bay to visit my parents. They’ve been camping at Killbear Provincial Park (close to Parry Sound) for the past 3 weeks and so the tent trailer, tarps and everything else was already set up upon my arrival.

Having grown up camping every summer since the age of one, you’d think I’d be one of those M.E.C. portaging outdoorsy enthusiasts. Instead, I’ve morphed into a creature of comfort who doesn’t view damp pillows and campfire scented clothes as holiday material. Non the less, I had a really good time.

I made this picture of my mom and dad windsurfing for their early anniversary gift. I guess more than anything, the real reason my parents camp is to be close to the water’s edge, enjoying the lake at every chance they get.

The card game pictured below is called Skeeter. To play, the dealer flips over each card one at a time and the object is to slap the “mosquito” cards before any of your opponents. This game has been kept in the “games” drawer of our tent trailer for years. And before that it belonged to my mom and her sister and brothers as kids. Someone at some point scratched out the Tarantula illustration because it was too scary to slap!


4 Responses to “Tent Trailer”


  1. 3 Julie January 11, 2016 at 2:11 pm

    Thank you for posting such a good picture of this skeeter game! I played it as a kid and it brings back such fond memories. Since we can no longer buy this game, I was able to print out your picture and now my children are enjoying this game just as much as I did! Thanks for keeping it alive. 😊


Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

my website

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Just found out the term for a herd of unicorns is called a "blessing": A blessing of unicorns. Weird, but okay. 🌈 #burrito Feeling like a 9 year old again. ✨ 🍊 🍊 🍊 Baby in a backpack from Up! πŸ“˜@owlkidspublishing Kayaking is kind of like the opposite of biking, when you think about it. πŸ›Άβš‘οΈπŸš² Nori rated this year's cat garden buffet 2 out of 3 Michelin stars: "worth a detour". ⭐️⭐️ .
.#catgarden #catgrass #catmint #walkerslow #nepetaracemosa #barleygrass #purrsianbluecatmint #worthadetour We found a perfectly good drafting table left out for trash. Yay for free things and customizable angles to draw upon! βœοΈβ†—οΈβ†˜οΈβ†–οΈβ¬†οΈβ¬…οΈβ†™οΈ

