a box in the sky

Last week I came to the sad realization that my humble vegetable garden was doubling as a kitty litter box by night. My last minute solution to prevent future feline felonies was to start a container garden.

It’s a lot of fun finding everyday items that can double as planters. So far my favourites have been old recycling boxes and concrete bricks with holes in them. To make the garden flow aesthetically, I’ve tiered the varying-sized planters from tallest to shortest. And, the few plants that are rooted in the actual ground are well protected by surrounding rocks and logs.

Now, every time I go to the market and see new seedlings I’d like to bring home and plant, I must first consider the container situation. I think I might have to resort to using things like old rubber boots and kitchen pots soon. We’ll have to see.  It’s addictive, this gardening thing.

1 Response to “a box in the sky”


  1. 1 ALEJANDRA May 5, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    SWEET!!!! I LOVE HOW YOU USED THE BRICKS!!


Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

my website

New Book!

Kyle Goes Alone

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Just found out the term for a herd of unicorns is called a "blessing": A blessing of unicorns. Weird, but okay. 🌈 #burrito Feeling like a 9 year old again. ✨ 🍊 🍊 🍊 Baby in a backpack from Up! 📘@owlkidspublishing Kayaking is kind of like the opposite of biking, when you think about it. 🛶⚡️🚲 Nori rated this year's cat garden buffet 2 out of 3 Michelin stars: "worth a detour". ⭐️⭐️ .
.#catgarden #catgrass #catmint #walkerslow #nepetaracemosa #barleygrass #purrsianbluecatmint #worthadetour We found a perfectly good drafting table left out for trash. Yay for free things and customizable angles to draw upon! ✍️↗️↘️↖️⬆️⬅️↙️

