Pockets Warhol

Ever wonder what happened to Darwin the baby Japanese Macaque, famously known as the Ikea monkey? Well, he’s since shed his fashionable coat and is now living life more monkey-like at the Story Book Farm Primate Sanctuary. The sanctuary cares for over 20 monkeys, ranging from Marmosets, Lemurs, Squirrel Monkeys (my favourite), Spider Monkeys, Capuchin monkeys, Macaques, to Baboons.

Last fall, I had the pleasure of illustrating an article about Story Book Farm for the CWF’s kid’s magazine WILD. The article shed light on a special Macaque named Pockets Warhol who has an affinity for making art. His finger paintings have quite the following, and are auctioned off to help raise money for the farm.

pockets warhol painting monkey

Pockets relies on his assistant to lay down a canvas and squeeze out droplets of paint, but the rest is up to him. I wanted show off his distinct finger strokes in my illustration, so I first made the blank canvas with paper and then over-layed one of his actual paintings in photoshop. You could say I, too, was his assistant in this case!

2 Responses to “Pockets Warhol”


  1. 1 Charmaine Quinn February 28, 2014 at 11:03 pm

    Love this!! :)


Leave a Reply

Hello

My name is Ashley Barron and I'm a Toronto based illustrator. This is my online show & tell of new artwork and anything else I find inspiring. Thanks for taking a look :)

my website:

red squirrel print

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join me on Instagram :)

Last night: Kevin and his little helper helping me get things done. #KyleGoesAlone Perspective. #KyleGoesAlone There's no such thing as too many toys. Stop and smell the roses. Maya of @nuts_and_bowls with some Yerba Mate in place of a bday cake, after the market. My favourite bouquet from Saturday's @torontoflowermarket. Gale of #SweetGaleGardens grows these gems on her flower farm in Downsview Park. This pic is from a couple of weeks ago, but you can see how the Croton flower developed. It's since withered and fallen off. #crotonflower Rope and wire: all you need for a DIY spiral bird perch.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

